Skip to content

April 30, 2012

davidsberry

In cutting my teeth on active politics twenty years ago, my unwitting mentor was John Macnair, a crusty, iconic businessman-cum-farmer, whom I had known for a long time because I had gone to school with his two sons. John stepped down as a Tory district councillor but kept an eye on his many local interests by remaining active on the community council, environment trust, etc, etc.

Having survived a stint on destroyers in WW2 and endless insults from Labour council administration over decades, he could be tough when he needed to. But he was neither narrow in nor stingy with the wisdom it had brought him. I was lucky enough to benefit from its depth. “If they’re shooting at you, you know you’re doing something right” was one of John’s sage phrases that has stuck with me.

It sprang to mind again when I was handed the latest leaflet from my…

View original post 918 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

