Skip to content

May 6, 2012

muteswann

A few days ago I posted about how e-comms has enabled me to make and maintain friends in a way that I find hard face to face (not least because some of the people I love the most are the furthest away). And earlier still, I posted about how e-comms is limiting our sense of connection and community in the real world. Which may seem contradictory positions. But I’ve been pondering this some more and thus will now blether about it for a few moments.

I’m not very good at keeping friends. I’m great at offering practical advice and book recommendations, but I am less good at emotional advice / empathy, rubbish about children, and frequently drop off the radar for weeks, nay months at a time.

I’m also incredibly judgmental. About your taste in cultural interests, your intellect, your choice of how you spend your time.

But… If you get…

View original post 479 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

