Skip to content

May 21, 2012

My Bletherings

I remember as a kid growing up in Glasgow that I was brought up under the belief (as instilled by my father) that I was Scottish “through & through” and not to forget it. As I got older I realised this was quite obviously wrong as my mothers had been born in Darlington, albeit to a Glaswegian Father and that her maternal Grandmother had been of Irish extraction. So 100% Scots TOTALLY blown out of the water there then!

I have always had an interest in both who came before me and indeed where they came from and in ‘trying’ to find out their stories. As a novice in genealogy I have already unearthed a mass of information that, as previously mentioned, blows my “100% Scot” to smithereens. Primarily my forebears were drawn from Ireland (North & South), Aberdeenshire here in Scotland, the North East of England and…

View original post 187 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

