Skip to content

May 29, 2012

AN SIONNACH FIONN

So you think you live in an Ireland of equals? Think again. From Gaelport:

“My name is Niamh Ní Chadla and I am an ordinary girl, working and studying in Dublin, paying my taxes like everyone else. My passport had to be renewed  last week and I decided to make it into a small research project to see how the might of the public service would deal with me, an Irish speaker on a daily basis.

As a student of  Irish and, I chose to speak Irish for most of the day. I knew the Official Languages Act afforded some rights to Irish speakers and I knew that both the Gardaí and the Department of Foreign Affairs came within the scope of the Act.  So passports and forms should be available in both languages, and I was hopeful I would get customer service in Irish also.

But would…

View original post 643 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

